Candidates announced for local elections 2022

5 April 2022

Local election nominations for councillors have officially closed and the names of all candidates standing for election in Thurrock on Thursday 5 May have been released.

Details of candidates running can be found on the Thurrock Council website at

Polling cards have been delivered to eligible electors giving details of their polling station and how to apply for a postal or proxy vote. Polling hours on Thursday 5 May are from 7am until 10pm.

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote has until midnight on Thursday 14 April to apply. Applications can be made online at or by calling 01375 652 816.

Those who require a postal or proxy vote should contact the elections office on 01375 652 816 or email The deadline for receipt of completed applications to vote by post is 5pm on Tuesday 19 April. Completed proxy vote applications must be received by 5pm on Tuesday 26 April. Applications for both must be sent to the Electoral Registration officer at Thurrock Council.

Chafford and North Stifford, Corringham and Fobbing, East Tilbury, and Stanford-le-Hope West wards have no local council elections on Thursday 5 May. In each election only a third of councillors in the borough stand, which means these 2-councillor wards will not be contested this time.

For the wards that are being contested, one candidate will be elected per ward.