Notice of Election, 22 March

15 February 2018
The Returning Officer for Thurrock Council has published the Notice of Election for the Ockendon by-election today (Thursday 15 February).
The poll will be held on Thursday 22 March and polling stations will open from 7am to 10pm.
Nominations to stand as a candidate for the Ockendon by-election close at 4pm on Friday 23 February 2018.
Polling cards will be delivered to all eligible electors in Ockendon on the Electoral Register.
Polling stations this year are:

By-election in Ockendon ward called for March

7 February 2018
Following Kevin Wheeler's resignation as an elected member for Ockendon Ward, a by-election has been called for March.
The by-election is scheduled to be held on Thursday 22 March 2018.
Only voters in the Ockendon ward will be eligible to vote and the polling stations on the day will be:

General Election 2017 officially begins

9 May 2017
There was a special delivery to Thurrock Council last Thursday (4 May), marking the start of this year's General Election process.
Following the dissolution of Parliament, the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery at the Palace of Westminster sends writs to all constituencies notifying them of the election.
As a servant of the crown, Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr Cathy Kent, formally received the writ.
Whilst she is the Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr Cathy Kent holds the title of Returning Officer in a Parliamentary Election for the Thurrock constituency.

Electoral Register update

10 August 2016
Thurrock Council is about to start its annual update of the borough’s Electoral Register and forms will be delivered to all homes between 12 and 21 August.
It is important to ensure the register is as up-to-date as possible so people do not miss out on their chance to vote and all residents are encouraged to complete the form and return it promptly to ensure they can have their say at future elections.
It is particularly important that anyone who has moved address recently looks out for the form and checks whether they are registered to vote.

Postal votes

21 April 2016
Postal vote packs were sent out this week for the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) and local elections taking place on Thursday 5 May 2016.
Electors should begin to receive their packs this week, and are encouraged to complete and return them as soon as possible. They must be received back by 10pm on election day.
If you need assistance completing your postal ballot papers, you should contact the elections team as soon as possible to arrange support.

Election time approaches

22 March 2016
All Thurrock residents will be heading to the polls on Thursday 5 May this year for the election of a Police Crime and Commissioner for Essex and for the 17 borough seats up for re-election.
In three wards - Little Thurrock Rectory, Stifford Clays and Tilbury Riverside & Thurrock Park - there will be no borough election. Electors will vote in the Police Crime and Commissioner election only.