Freedom of the Borough

Highest honour

Freedom of the Borough is the highest honour that we can bestow on any individual or organisation.

By law, 'honorary freemen' or 'honorary freewomen' status can be granted to:

  • persons "of distinction"
  • persons who have "rendered eminent services to that place or area"

The following organisations and individuals have been honoured with the Freedom of the Borough.

Recipient Year
Reverend Canon Darren Barlow, Team Rector of Grays Thurrock Team Ministry 2024
Father Paul Dynan, of Our Lady Star of the Sea Church, Tilbury and Our Lady and St Joseph Church, Stanford-le-Hope 2020
Reverend John Guest of St Margaret's Church, Stanford-le-Hope 2020
Father Brian O'Shea of St Thomas of Canterbury Church, Grays 2020
The Thurrock Branch of the Burma Association 2008
Port of Tilbury Police 2002
Mrs Dorothy Coker 2001
Royal Anglian Regiment 1990
215 Essex Squadron 1986