LGBCE launches next stage of consultation for council wards in Thurrock

9 July 2024

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its proposals for the new pattern of local electoral wards in Thurrock as part of its Boundary Review for consultation with local people and other stakeholders.  

Their proposed new boundaries for electoral wards in the borough aim to ensure that councillors are distributed equally across the borough and that wards are based around recognised local neighbourhoods so that all residents feel fairly represented.  

It is proposing that there should be 49 Councillors representing 9 three-councillor and 11 two-councillor wards, for a total of 20 wards.

All but one of the wards will change. 

Proposed changes include: 

• Creation of a two-councillor Purfleet-on-Thames ward; 

• Thurrock Park has been added to Little Thurrock Rectory ward and Sandy Lane and Hill House Drive to Chadwell St. Mary ward.

The consultations are open to everyone and the Council actively encourages residents and others to read the proposals and submit their views back to the Boundary Commission. 

Thurrock Council is also a consultee to the proposals and councillors will meet to discuss whether an agreed council response will be submitted, or political groups and parties will submit their own individual response directly to the Boundary Commission.

After the close of the consultation period, the Boundary Commission will submit its final proposals to Parliament for approval, after which the Council will put them into place.  The new boundaries will be first used at the May 2025 local elections, where all 49 seats on the council will be up for re-election.

The proposals are open for public consultation until 16 September and can be completed on The Local Government Boundary Commission for England's website.