The Cabinet and its members

The Cabinet includes the Leader of the Council and 9 other councillors. Each cabinet member is responsible for a policy area, known as a portfolio.

Cabinet responsibilities

The Cabinet of portfolio holders is responsible for:

  • publishing a forward plan that gives at least 28┬ádays notice about the key decisions it will take
  • making most of the council's main budget and policy decisions
  • recommending the budget and important policies for the council to agree on
  • deciding certain policies
  • carrying out important plans and strategies

Members of the Cabinet

The current members of the Cabinet and their portfolios are listed below.

Cabinet member Portfolio
Councillor Rob Gledhill
Leader of the Council
Cabinet member for Public Protection and Anti-social Behaviour
Councillor Mark Coxshall
Deputy Leader of the Council
Cabinet member for Regeneration and External Affairs
Councillor Qaisar Abbas Cabinet member for Communities and Equalities
Councillor Jack Duffin Cabinet member for Finance and Communication
Councillor Shane Hebb Cabinet member for Transformation and Performance
Councillor Deborah Huelin Cabinet member for Adults and Health
Councillor Andrew Jefferies Cabinet member for Environment and Air Quality
Councillor Barry Johnson Cabinet member for Children's Social Care and Education
Councillor Ben Maney Cabinet member for Highways and Transport
Councillor Luke Spillman Cabinet member for Housing