New Mayor and Leader

25 May 2023
Cllr Sue Little has been inaugurated as the Mayor of Thurrock and Cllr Andrew Jefferies voted in as new Leader of council at Annual Council on Wednesday 24 May.
Cllr Qaisar Abbas has been named as the deputy Mayor for the 2023/24 municipal year.
Cllr Little said: "It is a tremendous honour to become the Mayor of Thurrock and I am looking forward to an exciting year ahead. I will be working hard to visit as many charities and local groups as possible and highlighting all the excellent work being carried out by the borough's residents.

Mayoral Roll of Honour continues to celebrate outstanding achievements

21 February 2023
Since June 2022, the Mayoral Roll of Honour – launched by the Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr James Halden – has recognised 26 individuals and groups for their inspiring work to support others in the community.
The initiative encourages residents to nominate charities, businesses, individuals and community groups whose work has gone above and beyond to service Thurrock in extraordinary ways, making the borough a greater place to live, work, learn and play.
The full list of recipients of the Roll of Honour award is

Local businesses donate thousands to Mayor's charity

16 January 2023
Thurrock businesses have so far donated £17,900 to the chosen charities of the Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr James Halden, helping to save lives, support vulnerable people and those in need.
The Mayor named the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at Basildon University Hospital as his main charity when he was elected in May last year, alongside focusing on charities that provide help for refugee children, families and those who support them.

Mayoral Roll of Honour launches

22 June 2022
Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr James Halden, has launched a Mayoral Roll of Honour celebrating charities, businesses, individuals and community groups who have gone above and beyond for the borough.
From Wednesday 22 June, residents can make a nomination for the Mayoral Roll of Honour, which will recognise those who work hard to serve Thurrock. Nominations must be signed by at least 4 councillors who can confirm the nominee deserves the special recognition.

New Mayor takes chains of office

27 May 2022
Cllr James Halden has been inaugurated as the new Mayor of Thurrock.
The ceremony took place at Annual Council on Wednesday 25 May in the Committee Rooms of the new Civic Offices building.
Cllr Sue Little was named as Deputy Mayor for the 2022/23 municipal year.
Cllr Halden said: "I've got a profound belief in Thurrock's potential; a borough that’s has been open for business for the centuries. From rural towns to heavy industry, from a massive GDP to diverse and thriving communities, Thurrock has the opportunity to rival London and her 'square mile'.