Education awards

2019 award winners

More than 400 nominations were received for education awards in 2019.

Excellence in early years education

Sponsored by Cruise and Maritime Voyages.

Winner: Nicola Barrett, Benyon Primary School


  • Tracey Butcher and Tracey Richardson, Ortu Corringham Primary School
  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Team, Harris Primary Academy Mayflower
  • Victoria Lennon Humphrey, Play 2 Learn Day Nursery

Newcomer of the year

Sponsored by Strategy Education.

Winner: Hannah Lebeze, St Clere’s School


  • Sam Morley, Arthur Bugler Primary School
  • Cieran Hellis Tatum, Ortu Gable Hall School
  • Harry Walker, Ortu Hassenbrook Academy

Teaching and school support of the year

Sponsored by Palmers Solicitors.

Winner: Jackie Shepard Ashby, The Olive AP Academy


  • Megan Davis, Treetops School
  • Kristie Gibbs and Dawn Webster, Ortu Corringham Primary School
  • Mel Pitcher, Chadwell St Mary Primary School

Excellence in English or science, technology, engineering or maths (STEM)

Sponsored by Greenergy.

Winner: Year One Team, Arthur Bugler Primary School


  • Stacey Dixon, Ortu Gable Hall School
  • Dimi Gospodinova, Dilkes Academy
  • Adam Guilbert, The Olive AP Academy

Opportunities in skills development

Sponsored by ALM Training.

Winner: Yuen-Man Yau, The Consultancy Home Counties (TCHC) group


  • Greg Perry, Harris Primary Academy Chafford Hundred
  • Heather Westrop, Holy Cross Catholic Primary School
  • Work Experience Team, USP Palmers College

Excellence in creative arts or culture

Sponsored by High House Production Park.

Winner: Cross-Curricular Team, William Edwards School


  • Jenny Hill, The Gateway Academy
  • Performing Arts Team, Ortu Gable Hall School
  • Gemma Waters, Ortu Hassenbrook Academy

Mental health and well-being champion

Sponsored by Moore Kingston Smith.

Winner: Well-Being Team, Belmont Castle Academy


  • Lorraine Barnes, Dilkes Academy
  • Stuart Holmes, Abbots Hall Primary Academy
  • Jean Nancolas, Stanford-le-Hope Primary School

Teacher of the year, primary

Sponsored by DP World London Gateway.

Winner: Nadia Kemel, Harris Primary Academy Chafford Hundred


  • Fiona Carter, Beacon Hill Academy
  • Lucy Chipperfield, Arthur Bugler Primary School
  • Mark Jepson, Benyon Primary School

Teacher of the year, secondary

Sponsored by Port of Tilbury.

Winner: Mark Harvey, Ortu Hassenbrook Academy


  • Adam Guilbert, The Olive AP Academy
  • Maxine Murray, Treetops School
  • Leanne Nancolas, Ortu Gable Hall School

Education leader of the year

Sponsored by HW Wilson Ltd.

Winner: Laura James, Abbots Hall Primary Academy


  • Ian Broyd, Warren Primary School
  • Rhys Latham, Dilkes Academy
  • Katie Thwaites, USP Palmers College

Unsung hero

Sponsored by Eternity Events.

Winner: Bev Bennett, Ortu Corringham Primary School


  • Charlotte Harman, Proximity: Church
  • Andy Melbourne, Willow Garden Day Nursery
  • Kerry Willis, North East London Foundation Trust (NELFT)