Education awards

Celebrating excellence in education

Thurrock's education awards celebrate excellence in the borough's schools. They recognise the importance of education as the foundation for a good quality of life and future success.

There are 14 award categories for teachers, head teachers, support staff, teams, governors and trusts that have gone the extra mile in sharing their effort, enthusiasm and talent.

We welcome nominations from parents, pupils, colleagues, providers, partners and all involved with education in Thurrock.

Winners of the 2018 awards have now been announced!

The awards were presented on the evening of Thursday 22 November 2018 at The Civic Hall in Blackshots Lane, Grays, RM16 2JU.

All shortlisted nominators and nominees were entered into a prize draw for a 15-day cruise for 2 people, from Tilbury to the Canary Islands and Madeira, departing Sunday 11 August 2019, donated by Cruise & Maritime Voyages.

Award sponsors

Sponsors join us each year to honour the exceptional professionals, practitioners, governors and support staff across Thurrock. Sponsors of the 2018 education awards are:

Category Sponsor
Overall main sponsors DP World London Gateway and Greenergy
Outstanding early years practitioner ALM Training
Outstanding new teacher Strategy Education
Aspiring leader ALM Training
Innovative and creative teaching High House Production Park
Education support Print Warehouse
Excellence in English Palmers Solicitors
Excellence in science, technologies, engineering and maths (STEM) Greenergy
Promoting career pathways and apprenticeships DP World London Gateway
Governing board, trust or member Kingston Smith
Cross-school collaboration or community partnership Athene Communications
Teacher of the year in primary education HW Wilson Ltd
Teacher of the year in secondary education HW Wilson Ltd
School leader of the year Port of Tilbury
Outstanding contribution to education in Thurrock Port of Tilbury
Venue sponsor Impulse Leisure

Previous awards

Education awards have been presented annually since 2014. Read about our: