Education awards

2022 award winners

517 nominations were received for education awards in 2022. Finalists are listed below.

The overall main sponsors of the awards are Thames Freeport and Greenergy.

Excellence in early years education

Sponsored by DG International.

Winner: Manager and Team – Little Chestnuts Preschool


  • Dee Bullion – ABC Dee's Childcare
  • Early Years Team – Harris Primary Academy Mayflower
  • Laura Weightman – Laura's Little Lovelies Childcare

Newcomer of the year

Sponsored by Strategy Education.

Winner: Sam Tizard – Bonnygate Primary School


  • Hannah Darbey – Orsett Heath Academy
  • Emma Goodsell – Quarry Hill Academy
  • Chloe Marshall – The Gateway Primary Free School

Teaching and school support of the year

Sponsored by Moore Kingston Smith.

Winner: Kate Stonell – Thames Park Secondary School


  • Wendy Smith – Orsett Church of England Primary School
  • Richard Turner – Graham James Primary Academy
  • Lauren Williams – Little Thurrock Primary School

Excellence in English or science, technology, engineering or maths (STEM)

Sponsored by DP World London Gateway.

Winner: STEM Team – Olive AP Academy


  • Jess Knight – William Edwards School
  • Hayley Nye – Dilkes Academy
  • Sam Toman – Ortu Hassenbrook Academy

Excellence in sport or the creative arts

Sponsored by Impulse Leisure.

Winner: Aimee Valentine – Abbots Hall Primary Academy


  • Art and photography department – William Edwards School
  • Diana Naydenova-Goryanova – Ormiston Park Academy
  • Billy Rungay – Orsett Heath Academy

Inclusive opportunities for skills development

Sponsored by DG International.

Winner: Alexa Joel – William Edwards School


  • Florin Nicorici – Ormiston Park Academy
  • Samantha Phillips – Dilkes Academy
  • Kirsty Stamp – Dilkes Academy

Mental health and well-being champion

Sponsored by Palmers Solicitors.

Winner: Stuart Holmes – Abbots Hall Primary Academy


  • House Leader Team – William Edwards School
  • Pastoral Team – East Tilbury Primary School
  • Susie Tyler – Olive AP Academy

Teacher of the year – primary

Sponsored by H W Wilson Ltd.

Winner: James Powell – East Tilbury Primary School


  • Gemma Nicholson – Lansdowne Primary Academy
  • Grace Pattison – Quarry Hill Academy
  • Emma Walsh – The Gateway Primary Free School

Teacher of the year – secondary, including post-16

Sponsored by DG International.

Winner: Beverley Garnham – Thurrock Adult Community College


  • Gemma Ellis – Ortu Gable Hall School
  • Hannah Mitchell – Ortu Hassenbrook Academy
  • Katharine Nutman – William Edwards School

Education leader of the year

Sponsored by Port of Tilbury.

Joint winners: Dan George – Lansdowne Primary Academy and The Gateway Primary Free School, and Collette Hunnisett – Olive AP Academy


  • Christina Pumfrey – South West Essex Community Education Trust
  • Sue Weston – Ortu Sixth Form Centre

Going the Extra Mile (GEM) award

Sponsored by H W Wilson Ltd.

Winner: Stephen Sanger – Dilkes Academy


  • Staff Team – Beacon Hill Academy
  • Amanda Wood – William Edwards School
  • Rose Wright and the Catering Team – Ormiston Park Academy

Director's award for outstanding contribution to education in Thurrock

Winner: Kevin Sadler – The Gateway Learning Community