Keeping safe from abuse

Recognising abuse

Abuse is a crime!

Abuse is any act or neglect that harms another person. It can also be something that happens just once or something repeated many times

It is also abuse if it is:

  • done intentionally to cause harm, or
  • done accidentally through a lack of understanding

Different types of abuse

The different types of abuse include:

  • physical abuse such as, hitting, slapping, punching, injury inflicted deliberately or through lack of care
  • neglect such as, failing to meet a vulnerable persons basic needs which causes serious harm to their
  • emotional abuse such as, verbal abuse, threats or intimidation, isolation, persistent emotional ill treatment
  • sexual abuse such as, the direct or indirect involvement in sexual activity without consent or with pressured or induced consent
  • financial abuse such as, theft, fraud, exploitation, pressure in connection with wills or inheritance or financial transactions
  • discriminatory abuse such as racist or sexist remarks or comments, or actions deliberately targeted because of a persons impairment, disability, age, illness or sexual orientation
  • institutional abuse is the ongoing failure of an organisation which negatively affects the quality of care given